I’m in Utah!

Me and the kids made it safe and sound to my parents home in St George Utah. It was quite the adventure travelling with two small kids all by myself.

Maddy did NOT want to say goodbye to her daddy at the airport in Atlanta. She kept turning around and saying “come on Daddy!” when we were going through the doors and he was standing by the car. Cam later confessed to me that I couldn’t see it because of the sunglasses but he was about to cry watching us leave and knowing he wasn’t going to see us for two weeks. Man I love that guy!

Miss Maddy also had a bit of a fever and diarrhea. After we got our boarding passes she informed me “Stinky mama”. Luckily we got there plenty early so had more than enough time for a bathroom trip. I changed her then decided to change Ben’s wet diaper while I was at it. When I was done changing him Maddy again said “stinky mama” and she was. So three diapers and about 15 minutes later we were on our way.

I ws wearing Ben in his ring sling and had Maddy holding on to the tail to make sure she stayed with me. the people at security were very nice and helped me get her shoes off and all of our stuff loaded on to the x-ray machine. There was absolutely no line but it still took us probably about 10 minutes to get on our way to the gate. Oh the joys of removing your shoes and going through airport security.

We got to our gate about 45 minutes before boarding. Both my babies were very tired and ready for naps. Maddy has finally decided ti is pk to take a nap when she is tired so she curled up on a seat with my jacket. Benny was another story. He just got hyper. He was crawling at full speed all over the waiting area. He would crawl right up to the big window and bang on it yelling “DA!” then crwl as fast as he could back to me with a big smile on his face. Then he was right back to the window again. Several people were getting a good chuckle out of watching him go.

We got on the plane and I immedietly asked the stewardesses for water for Ben’s bottle. He drank that while everyone was boarding and within five minutes fo the plane taking off he was passed out on my lap. Maddy laid her head down on my lap nad curled up in her seat and was also out within a few minutes of takeoff. I swiped my credit card and enjoyed several episodes of Cash Cab. they both slept for about two hours then were nice and cheerful for the remaining two hours of the flight.

When it ws time to get off our first flight in Denver as soon as we left the plane Maddy started asking “where Daddy?” Once again I had to explain to her that daddy was staying at home and we wouldn’t see hom for two weeks. That was when it hit me that this child has never had to go longer than the time dad was at work without seeing her Daddy. At least as far as she can remember. Dad went on a few trips with the band when she was just a baby. We walked, very slowly thanks to miss Maddy, to our next flight. Once aboard I gave Benny a bottle again and he passed right out. Maddy didn’t sleep this time but she was a little angel. She was just chatting away and playing with a napkin and an empty cup. The guy sitting in the row with us was staring at her then said to me “I’m not creepy I promise. I’m just studying child developement and she is WAY smart for her age. Have you had her tested?” I smiled and thanked him and he spent the rest of the flight talking to her and playing with her and marveling at her awesomeness.

After our flight we were picked up by grandpa Chapman and Uncle Ken. We drov eover to McDonalds where we met Uncle Jake and his Girlfriend, Michelle. We ate dinner then headed to St. George. We got in at around 1:30 am. Maddy went right to bed but after screaming his head off for who knows how long I had to finally cuddle Ben in bed with me to get him to go to sleep around 3am. The kids were up at about 8 this morning. Mommy is very exhausted but glad to be in Utah with her family for two weeks before she has to do it all again to go home!

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m in Utah!

  1. Jennifer Lavender says:

    Sounds like an exciting trip. I hope the trip home goes as smoothly. See you soon!

  2. Cameron says:

    Job well done, love!

Leave a Reply

