Cousins, Conference, and Contests

It has been so wonderful to have all the cousins together at Grandma’s house. Friday night we picked up Corey from the airport. Maddy was sooooooo excited to see her big brother.

Maddy loves her big brother

Yesterday (Saturday) My sister Jenny brought her kids over, so we had all 6 grandkids at Grandma’s house. They had a blast playing with each other. We put together a little Easter egg hunt for them.

Hunting for Easter eggs

Grandma had bought each child a puzzle and was going to put the pieces in the eggs. Unfortunately the puzzle pieces didn’t fit. So Grandma put some coins in the eggs then sent the uncles outside to hide them. While the kids were outside finding eggs the uncles came inside and hid the puzzle pieces in the living room. We had four grandkids ranging in age from 2-7 looking for eggs so grandma labled the eggs making sure each child got the same number and the big kids helped the littler ones find their eggs. Then they came inside and found all their puzzle pieces and assembled them.

Putting together the Puzzles

After finding her puzzle pieces Maddy informed me “Need a nap!” Of course mommy is never going to argue with that statement. I laid her down and while everyone else was having fun she was snoring away

Snore

Benny and Maxx are only 10 months old so we just gave them their baskets and filled their eggs with fruit loops. I think they both agreed that the eggs made better rattles than anything else.

Benny's Easter basket

  Also yesterday and today I have been priveledged to enjoy the general conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latterday Saint. Twice a year the church has a conference that is broadcast via TV, satellite and internet to members all of the world. There ar four general sessions, two on Saturday and two on Sunday. During this conference we are able to recieve messages and inspiration from the leaders of the church. For those that can not see it using any of these methods the messages are printed in the Ensign magazine in several languages. It is a wonderfully uplifting experience and one I look forward to every six months. I also really enjoy getting the Ensign magazine the following montha nd being able to reread and study the messages. I have noticed that this conference there has been a lot of talk about the importance of the family. One talk that really hit me (I forgot who was talking oops) spoke about how parents have a sacred responsibility to teach their children. You can not leave the education of your children, spiritual or secular, to be done by others. You need to take an active role in ensuring that your children are learning the importnat truths that will guide them through this life.

In the evening after conference my sister and I went to ladies night at Deseret Book. On the Saturday evening of conference there is always a session for the priesthood holders. During this session Deseret Book does a ladies night where they will have a free raffle to give away some of their products, refreshments, and a bunch of sales. In the 26 years I have been alive I have NEVER won anything in any sort of contest. Last night my sister and I both entered our name sin the raffle, we also entered my mothers name even though she wasn’t there. Guess who won prizes? that’s right my sister and my mom both had their names called while mine was not. The streak continues. I do have a nice mommy though because she let me have her prize which was a book. Then my sister was nice too because she let me take her CD because it will be easier to pack and she took the book. Maybe when I’m 90 I’ll win some contest just in time to die and let my kids have the prize.

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

