Storm clouds and sunshine

Today started out bright and sunny. Babies woke up cheerful, mommy was all ready for church in time. Then we hit a few clouds. Namely mom had time so she decided to use contact paper to laminate some cards for primary singing time. It didn’t go so well and we were late to church. Oops.

Church was once again clear and sunny. We played human spin the bottle. I had the songs the kids are learning for the primary¬†program (I’m the choristor for the kids by the way if you didn’t know) typed out on sheets of paper and placed them on the floor in a circle. I then had one chinld stand in the circle and spin with their eyes closed. The other kids called out STOP and we had to sing the song that the spinning child was facing. I also had them draw a “sing as” card (which were lamintaed). We did things like use opera voices, plug our noses, and sing like a drill instructor. It was a blast.

When we got home though the Maddy cloud rolled in! She was soooo tired. Too tired to go to bed of course. Benny was already asleep. He had been so passed out that when I took him out of his carseat his head fell over like a rag doll! When we put maddy in her bed Daddy took off her socks because it was hot. Bad move dad! lol. She was NOT happy. We put the socks back on, but it wasn’t enough. The rain began to fall and the thunder crashed! The noise of course woke Ben who added his own little sprinkles to the affair. Benny got to get up and have a bottle while Maddy proceeded to storm alone in the bedroom. She still wasn’t done when Benny was redy to get back in bed so she got moved to mommy’s bed and Benny went back to sleep in his bed. Finally the storm subsided adn the girl fell asleep.

Daddy was already asleep on the living room floor. He likes it there for some reason, weird dad. Mommy laid down on the couch and life was good. Until the Maddy storm awoke!! Benny woke up first and he was nice and cheerful, no such luck with miss Maddy. She is the kind of kid that takes a good 15-20 minutes to really be awake. During that time she is usually completely irrational. Usually she’ll just stay in her bed until she’s fully awake on her own. Not so today. she started hollering for mommy to get her down (we have a King sized loft bed yeah we’re cool like that). She woke up hungry. A not fully awake Madddy that needs food is like having a full on hurricane. I want grapes, I don’t want to eat those, I want to sit in my chair, no I want to sit in mommy’s chair, no I don’t want to sit down at all!!!! Once we managed to get some food in her she was back to sweet sunshiney Maddy. In fact as I refilled her goldfish crackers and proceeded to leave the room she looked up at me, tilted her head to the side, flashed a HUGE grin, and said “mommy don’t leave me!”

The Maddy "aren't I cute" grin

After she was done eating I let her come in the office and watch the movie UP on daddy’s computer. Maddy loves this movie! I was only half watching it, more listening really, but I thought it was very cute. when the baloons first popped out of the house Maddy giggled and clapped her hands. After that every few minutes she’d ask where’d the baloons go if sh hadn’t seen them for a while. She also says “I luff the snipe!” The first time the boy met the big bird he called it a snipe so that’s what ti is according to Maddy and she loves it. Benny being Benny was of course perfectly calm through this entire drama and was contentedly playing by himself with the toys.

When it got to be about 9:15 Maddy, while watching UP for the second time because mommy was enjoying the peace, loked at me and said “I want to lay down” OK!! She went to bed with no fuss and fell right asleep.

I love my little storm cloud sunshine girl dearly. She is so much like her dear mom. Heart on her sleeve and emotions ready to boil over at any moment. Us ladies may hit the depths of despair more often than others but we also get so much enjoyment out of the high points of life. Having a nice calm middle of the road kid like Ben is great and I love him just as much as my little storm could but I must admit that the ups and downs of life with Maddy sure make things a lot more interesting than they would be with a house full of Ben’s.

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storm clouds and sunshine

  1. Cameron says:

    Well I, for one, think Benny is very interesting!

Leave a Reply

