Trip to Utah

My goodness it has been way too long. With three kids under three getting time to blog just doesn’t happen often. I could write an entry that would take you ten minutes to read. I think instead that I will divide it up a bit and just write more than one entry today.

First topic is our trip to Utah. When Leah was 2 weeks old we flew out to see Corey and my parents. My dad drove down to San Diego on the Saturday before and picked up Corey then me and the three other kids flew into Las Vegas on Tuesday. Travelling with three under three was an adventure to be sure. I was pleasantly surprised, however, with how smoothly everything went. At the Airport the airline gave Cameron a pass so that he could come up to the plane with me. Then they actually let him help me get onto the plane and get settled! I won’t tell you what airline it was since it was soooooo against FAA regulations! We had a layover in Texas, but we didn’t have to change planes. Ben and Leah were sleeping so I just let Maddy run the aisles a bit in the time between when everyone got off and the new people got on.

When we arrived everyone was so excited to meet Miss Leelee. Corey ran to get a peep of her as soon as he saw us. Between big brother, grandma, and her uncles this little girl never hit the floor for two weeks! the ride from Vegas to St George did not go nearly as smoothly as the airplane flight. That was due to Maddy and Ben being so excited that they just would not stop pestering their big brother who had to sit between them.

Corey and his new baby sister

The second night we were there Corey and I went to see Tarzan at Tuacahn theatre. My mom is the concessions manager there so she was able to get us some free tickets. It was amazing! We had such a good time.

Our visit just happened to correspong with the Tolman Family Reunion being held up near Salt Lake. Tolman is my mom’s mom’s maiden name. We drove un Friday night and spent the night with my mom’s dad.

My mom, her dad, and my kiddos

Then we went to the reunion on Saturday. Corey and Micah, who is my cousin Anna’s son, were the best of friends. That is one thing I love and admore about Corey is his ability to make friends wherever he goes. He is such a friendly outgoing kid. The best part fo the reunion was probably the “train” that uncle Larry had put together. He had a tractor for the engine and a whole bunch of little trailers attached. Each trailer had a different thing to ride mounted on it like a horse, a mini motorcycle, and in the caboose an office chair for the grownups.

The "train"

Everyone had a blast taking a ride on it. We stayed with Grandpa Workman that night then left after church on Sunday. Before we went home we also had a chance to stop and see my dad’s parents. They aren’t doing too well healthwise so I was greatful for the opportunity to spend some time with them.

My Dad, his parents, and the kiddos

The second week was rather unexciting due to the kids taking turns being sick. Corey threw up neon green popsicle and the next day Maddy was throwing up too. Mommy had her turn feeling yucky but luckily not as yucky as the kids.  The flight home went a little less smothly than the one out there. The kids were grouchy from being up too early in the morning. This time we actually had to switch planes during our layover. We had just enough time to get from one plane to the next. Luckily there was a pizza hut right across the way form our gate so I could grab something to eat. As it was we were one of the last people onto the plane. the one good thing was that were were in the row directly behind first class so we didn’t have to walk very far and we had lots of leg/running room.

Maddy passed out on the plane

Overall it was a great trip. I am so greatful for a husband, mom and grandpa that made it all possible.

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trip to Utah

  1. Jennifer Lavender says:

    This was a very fun visit. I wish we could have had more time to visit with you too, but it just wasn’t meant to be.

Leave a Reply

