I need a makeover

I am a mom. Not only a mom, but a mom of toddlers. This means that my daily routine does NOT include time for hair and make-up. It means I pretty much live in jeans and T-shirts. Some days it means I don’t get dressed at all. I’m ok with that. However some times you just need to do something special and I’d like to look special when I’m doing it!

Last month for Cameron’s birthday we went out to sing karaoke. I spent over an hour trying to put together an outfit that was cute without being super dressy and I finally gave up in tears and just threw on jeans and a nicer T-shirt. I’m not even sure at what point my wardrobe turned into this. As I look through my closet I realize I have several T-shirts, a few sweaters for when it’s cold outside and a few Sunday outfits. I have absolutely nothing that I can wear for a dress up date with my husband. That is depressing. That is something I want to change.

On top of the wardrobe issue for me is the hair and makeup issue. I have very straight hair. It is curently a few inches past my shoulders and straight and BORING. I also don’t own any styling tools except a brush and blow dryer.  My make-up is pretty much non-existant. I have foundation and mascara. I usually only put them on when I leave the house and some times I even forget to do that. Really, I like the natural look even when getting dolled up. My issue is that I have some deeper set eyes with lovely I’m a mom shadows. I’d love to be able to make them pop out a bit more and look a bit less tired.

The biggest stumbling block to change right now is money. I just can’t justify the cost of a new wardrobe right now, or even adding a few new pieces. This means I am at the mercy of the Goodwill and my own sewing maching skills. For example I got this UGLY grey sweater dress for less than $5. I am sure that with the right cut here and stitching there I can turn it into something cute for a night out on the town. I also have my eyes open for a cute top or two and maybe some boots. I am definitely open to suggestions.

So first up is the hair issue. I’m going to get it cut next week but I need some help choosing a style. I have a heart face and super straight relatively fine hair. I want a style that I can just jump out of the shower and forget it, throw it in a ponytail for the gym, or spend some time styling it up when I want to go out. Give me some ideas on what to do with it!

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I need a makeover

  1. Stevie says:

    I ran into this problem too. The other day I went out to Bingo with the women of my family and I seriously dressed to the nines — for BINGO — just because I was so sick of never doing my hair/makeup/etc.

    What I ended up doing is watching makeup tutorials on YouTube (I’m getting into the retro 40’s look right now, but there TONS more tutorials). Check out Michelle Phan and Kandee Johnson (my favorite.) I also have a couple expensive makeup items like one Mac foundation and a concealer while the rest is from a company called e.l.f where pretty much everything is $1 – that’s right one dollar (http://www.eyeslipsface.com)! They are sold in some Targets too.

    I get stuck trying to find outfits that look nice. Something I can dress up at night and still feel comfortable in throughout the day. I ended up really liking to hang around in leggings and long tunics. I’m sure tunics would be fun and relatively easy sew projects (wish I could sew!) and leggings can be pretty cheap.

    Maybe just add some cascading layers in the front of your hair. You really wouldn’t have to do much more than blow dry with a round brush.

    Those are some things that helped me. I know how you feel! 😛

  2. Craftyshutterbug says:

    Tell you what, since I’m in the same rut…we could submit each other for What Not To Wear as a special reunion makeover thing! LOL.
    I can look in my mother in law’s pattern room (Yes, ROOM), and see if she has anything pattern-wise for something a little dressier if you like.

  3. Lorraine says:

    Agh Emily I feel you! I am the same way. My suggestion. Get a hair style that you have to maintain… That way after a shower you have to fix it. I have my hair shoulder length in the front and stacked TN the back. I use a 1″ wide straightener to flatten my hair and use clear hair syrum to keep it flat. I only have to wash every other day and touch up with a straightener on the odd days. I can’t do a pony tail but at least I have to do my hair. I think with your straight hair it would be easy to manage. Just need tocurl ends under I’m sure. And I also think u would feel good having at least your hair done Each day. I hardly wear makeup. Just usually when I get in the car and then it’s just foundation. When I take a shower and do my hair I just let the kids play and close the bathroom door to keep them out. Really you deserve the 30 min a day to make yourself feel pretty which u already are.

  4. Thanks for all the comments guys. Yesterday I got me some new mascara. It was abou ttime anyway and I wanted to try out this new kind called fasies. I really like it. Now I’m busy searching for pictures to take with me when I get my hair cut next week!

  5. Jennifer Lavender says:

    You could try a cut like Constance’s. She’s got the really straight hair like you, and it looks super cute with just a quick brush, but I could easily style it different ways if she ever wanted me to. Our inspiration was Chloe Sullivan in the later seasons of the Smallville TV show.

  6. Alice Peterson says:

    I usually find a snazy belt, it seems to add a splash to a boring outfit. Its all about the accesories. As far as cuts, I am all about short as you can tell. Theres an awesome gel, made by garnier and its called survivor. Put it in before you dry your hair and it makes a difference.Thats all I can think of, too bad i’m not there I love makovers! Maybe for your birthday i’ll send ya a gift card so you can get a cute outfit!

Leave a Reply

