No I Don’t Want to Talk to You

Why is it that people suddenly have a LOT more to say to me when my kids are around? If I go to the grocery store alone nobody takes a second look at me. If Maddy or Benny s around we get a few looks, smiles, and maybe a “hello” from the cute old lady in line. If I have Leah though it’s like everyone thinks I want to be their best friend.

On Thursday I stopped by Staples to buy some new pages for Cameron’s and my planners. I was on my way somewhere else so I just wanted to get in, get what I needed and get out. As I’m walking down the aisle an employee (we’ll call him Bob for ease of story telling here) says “were you able to find everything ok today?” I replied with “yep, we’ve got everythingwe needed”.  I start to turn around the corner of the aisle to head towards the cash registers, but Bob gets in the way by lowering his face right into Leah’s and babbling at her. As he proceeds to talk and coo at Leah I glance down at the adding machine that is on the end of the aisle. Bob asks me if I am interested in the adding machine. I tell him my husband was interested in using one when balancing the checkbook, but that I wasn’t going to get one today and start to walk off. Bob starts giving me a very long explanation of the amazing excel spreadsheet he built to balance his checkbook. He even offered to e-mail it to me. Now I’m a little weirded out. Why on earth would I wat to give my e-mail address to a 50 something year old stranger? I say no thanks and continue walking towards the register. Bob then points to my sweatshirt and asks if my husband is in the Marines. I tell him we both were as I continue to walk. Bob then starts telling a long winded story about being in the Airforce and getting hit with a helicoptor blade. As I continue walking Bob keeps walking with me so that he can tell his story. He didn’t leave me alone until I reached the register and of course had to give one more final chuck under the chin to Leah. All told he probably spent at least 15 minutes annyoing me. Friendly is great, but seriously, why can’t some people get the clue that when I walk away I am no longer interested in talking to you.

Yesterday I did the grocery shopping at WalMart. The entire time I was in line I had to listen to the lady behind me,  the cashier, and finally the manager who brought her more change for her drawer all inform me that my baby was DEFINITELY teething. I mean come on she was fussing and had her thumb in her mouth. She HAD to be teething. I was told to give her a chicken bone, a frozen hot dog, and to rub rum on her tgums. #1 I’m her mom and I just happen to know that Leah is fusisng because she is tired and hungry. I also happen to know that she likes to suck her thumb and if no paci is available it’s almost always in her mouth. In addition when I have two other toddlers with me I think it is pretty obvious that I have dealt with teething before and I know how to deal with it. Not to mention that everyone of their suggestions is definitely NOT safe for a baby!

What is it about people who think that I need and/or want their advice just because I have kids? Why do they think I want to listen to their random story about their kid or their birth or their helicoptor accident? If anything having kids makes me want to talk to you EVEN LESS. I’m sorry I’m a little occupied with the toddler who is trying to grab everything off the shelf, the other toddler who is stepping on the mushrooms in my cart and the fussy baby who just wants to get some food and a nap. Please just stop talking to me, let me do my thing and get on my way so I can take care of my kids.

And just because it’s been a few days here’s a few cute pictures of said kids:

She was reading a book, daddy thought it was too quiet and this is what he found

 

A box and a car what else does a 1 year old boy need?

 

I think there's more on her face than got in her mouth but she seemed to enjoy licking the banana's off her spoon

About smithfamilysiren

Me and my partner in crime, Cameron, are just a bit crazy according to most of the people we know. Why? Because we love procreation! Our clan consists Corey born Oct 2002, Madeline March 2008, Benjamin May 2009, and Leah July 2010. We have no plans of stopping any time soon. Come join us on the rollercoaster of pregnancy, birth, diapers, feeding, outings, and all the other craziness that ensues when you have a house full of little people.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No I Don’t Want to Talk to You

  1. Jennifer Lavender says:

    Leah’s face is priceless. I love it!

    I’m with you though. The other day we were at WalMart and the check out next to us had a few trucks on display. Maxx, of course, spent his time stretching to try and get them. When we moved forward in line and he figured out the trucks weren’t coming with us, he yelled. I didn’t see it, but Mike says that a couple of “kids” (probably college students) in the next line over turned around and gave him the dirtiest looks he had ever seen, like we must be evil parents for allowing our child to make that much noise. He said it was all he could do to not get in their faces and ask them why they didn’t have a whole gaggle of toddlers with them if they thought they had all the answers about how to raise children. Sometimes, the people who don’t say anything are even worse than the ones who insist on talking your ear off.

Leave a Reply

